Learning from 2022

·

2 min read

Starting as a software engineer

In 2022 Feb end I started working as a software engineer in a startup. Till then I was working on one of my own startups which failed miserably and I had skipped my IIT Delhi placement for entrepreneurship. By end of Feb, I got contacted by a startup on Upwork and by then I was sure that I want to work in a startup as my startup has failed and I didn't want to work in any MNC so I took that offer without much negotiation on salary. That startup failed by end of October. And I realised that I should have negotiated my salary because once you get into the job market in India then your 2nd offer comes on basis of your previous salary and you get a raise on basis of that if that salary is low then you will find it hard to manage good salary. Fortunately, in my case, I got decent raise.

Technology I worked and learned in my previous job

The startup got closed but I enjoyed working there due to my great CTO and the learning opportunity I got there. I was hired as a backend python developer. My Django knowledge got really strong there. I used Django Core and Django Rest Framework day in and day out there. Worked with 3rd party APIs as well. Learnt about Redis, Vim, and Firebase, and became better at using Github and terminal. I Learned how to use server and SSH, learnt how to automate things using chron job, and how to port forward while developing in the local environment. Got intro to android studio and a little bit of flutter as well.

This much of learning in 10 months in an organisation would have never been possible if it was not a startup and a great CTO to guide.

DSA

In 2022 I also did a little bit of Leetcode partly because I enjoy it and partly because I like to keep myself interview ready, which helped me to crack my 2nd Job. Especially the concept of recursion was really helpful in solving problems. Currently, I'm working as a python engineer in another startup, where I primarily work in the area of computer vision.

Python libraries

In 2022 my understanding became strong in many libraries of python like Pandas for handling tabular data, and OS for handling files in python. I also improved my knowledge of Numpy, Matplotlib, OpenCV, and CSV.